sky, sea, and me [picture gallery]

I’m happy and grateful that I was able to visit the beach a couple of times this year, in the company of an amazing group of people no less. I’m a girl born and bred in the city, and trips that take me to any particular body of water that doesn’t feature floor tiles and chlorine are always a huge deal for me.

(My #retirementgoals include living in a house by the sea, owning a boat, feasting on mango and shrimps, and sleeping and waking up to the sound of the waves every single day.

Feeling the sand between my toes and the ocean breeze against my face give me a sense of calm that I don’t find anywhere else. I could sit by the beach and watch the waves sparkle in the sun for hours on end, and I believe nothing is more beautiful than the sunset or the reflection of the moon in the waters at night.

In my heart, I’m a mermaid, and the ocean, vast with mysteries of a thousand years, calls out to me. I’m not a very good swimmer, but I’m immensely in love with the sea. Oh boy. I sounds so cheesy. I just can’t help it. The water draws out certain romantic feelings no one would ever guess I possessed.

It’s kind of a bummer that I can’t go as often as I want. However, I’m quite satisfied knowing that I have quite an interesting collection of great memories of me and some wonderful people spending time on the beach, not the least of which, are the trips to Zambales me and some colleagues made this year.  In the coming years, I hope to visit more beaches in the Philippines and all over the world! For now, let me just relive my wonderful memories of the sea.

This was last month in Zambales…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


…and then in May:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

During both visits, we stayed at Look Left, now officially our home in Pundaquit, Zambales (shout out to owners Marion and Jay, two of the most wonderful people in the world). It wasn’t until our second trip that we climbed to the lighthouse on Capones Island. The view on top was breathtaking.

In 2014, I only had one beach trip but it was totally worth it. I went to Bacnotan, La Union, for the Holy Week with co-workers, four of them expats. Stayed in a beautiful rest house and made new friends from the local skim boarding community:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Before that, it was quite a long while since I visited the sea. In 2011, I visited Dasol, Pangasinan with family and friends. It was a long trip to Tambobong White Beach but it was so beautiful, I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In 2010, I set foot in Zambales for the second time…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

…and discovered that everything they said about Boracay is true. It was paradise.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(And right now as I write this, I’ve come to realize that I’m fortunate to have had several opportunities to travel, even though in my mind, it sometimes seemed that I didn’t. This thought makes my heart truly happy.)

In 2009, we camped overnight at Anawangin cove:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wow, wasn’t I much skinnier. LOL. Back then, Anawangin was still mostly isolated. When we dropped by during last May’s Zambales trip, it broke my heart to see that they’ve turned the once-peaceful cove into a full-blown marketplace.

In 2008, I was given the chance to visit Mactan, Cebu. I was there on assignment and the hotel my and my husband stayed in was super nice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Looking at the pictures now, can’t help but notice how thin I was! Shame my brows still haven’t reached their full hairy potential. I remember it rained a little, and it was beautiful. I never forgot the fresh buttered shrimps we had at one of the restaurants around town. And that was also when I experienced my first plane ride.

That pretty much sums up all the beaches I’ve been to so far. (I haven’t been to the beach until I was in my early twenties. Not that I could remember, anyway.) We were supposed to go to Palawan last July but we had to cancel because I quit my job. It was rather disappointing but I really want to take my family, especially my daughter, to the beach again very soon.

Batangas is most likely next for us. I’ve been there a couple of times but we weren’t as camera-phone savvy then as we are now, so I’m not sure where to start digging those old photos up. But I’m absolutely sure that I was my skinniest self back then. Now if only I could find the photos to prove it.

One thought on “sky, sea, and me [picture gallery]

  1. Pingback: do you have stars in your mouth?

Leave a Reply

