the abominable bride + a false glimmer

I have seen a bunch of stuff lately and it kind of got hard to find time to write about them, but I committed to writing more this year and if I don’t start now, it’s never gonna happen. An idea just now: I think I should try writing about stuff as I watch them (but not in movie houses of course, for obvious reasons)? I don’t know but will see about that.

Sherlock: The Abominable Bride

Sherlock the Abominable Bride

I was most delighted to find out that Sherlock released a new episode on the first day of the new year. I thought it was a season premier (because really, everyone knows it’s about damn time) but it turned out to be a Christmas special, just a little treat for the fans who’ve been patiently waiting for the resumption of the Benedict Cumberbatch-Martin Freeman onscreen bromance. I finally got around to watching it last week and the only bad thing I could say about it is that the new season couldn’t come soon enough!

The Sherlock Christmas Special is indeed special mainly because the main setting is Victorian Era London, which, as we all know, is the natural habitat of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s beloved detective. Our favorite heroes are pursuing the case of the abominable bride, which is based on the quote (“Ricoletti of the club foot and his abominable wife”) from The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual.

It was just so lovely seeing the Victorian incarnations of Sherlock, Watson, Lestrade, Mycroft, and even Mary, Molly, and Mrs. Hudson, wearing such delightful Medieval fashion, to the beat of that all too familiar theme music that just fills your heart with joy and excitement.  The episode does a perfect job setting the stage for the upcoming season by giving the audience an unexpected peek into Sherlock’s mind, following the death of Moriarty and his possible return as seen in the end of the previous season. It was brilliant, genius even. I enjoyed every minute and it’s a shame it ended too soon.

Homeland S05E12 (Season Finale)

homeland

Homeland is one of the handful of TV shows I still religiously follow for the simple reason that I love Peter Quinn and Carrie Mathison. There, I said it. I love Carrie. Quinn is understandably popular among fans with people even starting to suggest having his own spinoff, but Carrie is surrounded with such controversy and often seen as a problematic character whom a vast majority of audiences find it hard to relate to.

Yes, she’s completely messed up, hard to sympathize with for her stellar track record in making bad decisions, and she seems incapable of living a normal life. But it’s precisely for these reasons why I’m drawn to her. Despite all the shit, I still think she makes up a huge part of what Homeland is about: chaos, unpredictability, consequences, and somewhere in there, hope. Not to mention, she’s still a BAMF where stopping terrorist attacks are concerned, regardless of how many times she says “I’m out.”

The season finale closes with one of the most unsettling cliffhangers to date, with Peter Quinn’s life hanging in the balance. I’m hoping positive they won’t kill him off next season though, because if that’s what they wanted to happen, they would’ve done it already.

Carrie’s heroics are also one of the highlights in this episode as she

[SPOILER] succeeded in singlehandedly curbing a gas poisoning attack at a train station in Berlin by Syrian terrorists (led by a guy who calls himself Bibi. I know right–seriously?), while the entire forces of German and American intelligence pursued the wrong lead dropped by Allison, who we now know was a mole all along planted by the Russians within CIA. After the suspense dies down and the terrorist problem is resolved (for the moment at least), Carrie returns to Jonas’ arms hoping to pick up where they left off but he dumps her anyway. Yup. Just another day in The Life of Carrie. [/SPOILER]

The episode highlight for me, however, was Quinn’s letter to Carrie, which Dar Adal handed to her by Quinn’s bedside. It was so simple yet so beautifully poignant, I could feel tears welling up in my eyes no matter how many times I watch that bit. I’ve always rooted for Carrie and Quinn to end up together because who else could understand and protect her better than Peter? No one! But well, our dear Carrie just doesn’t see it that way. Another proof in support of her knack for making Bad Decisions. So anyway, here’s what the letter says:

Carrie,

I guess I’m done and we never happened. I’m not one for words but they are coming now.

I don’t believe in fate, or destiny or horoscopes but I can’t say I’m not surprised things turned out this way. I always felt there was something kinda pulling me back to darkness, does that make sense? But I wasn’t allowed a real life or a real love – that was for normal people.

With you I thought, ah maybe, just maybe but I know now that was a false glimmer. I’m used to those. They happen all the time in the desert but this one got to me. And here’s the thing, this death, this end of me, is exactly what should’ve happened. I wanted the darkness, I fuckin’ asked for it.

It has me now. So don’t put a star on the wall for me. Don’t say some dumb speech. Just think of me as a light on the headlands, a beacon steering you clear of the rocks.

I loved you.

Yours for always now,

Quinn

Peter Quinn | Homeland

Sob. Peter Quinn, please live. If you do and it still doesn’t work out with Carrie, I think you should give Astrid a (second?) chance. Because that girl is AWESOME. (I heard next season will be set in New York but I’m ready to see more of this German lady doing her sexy accent and kicking some serious ass.)

Leave a Reply

